A new vehicle must be inspected before it is sold at retail in North Carolina. Upon purchase, you will be provided a receipt certifying inspection compliance. The inspection conducted prior to your purchase is valid until the license plate is due for renewal.
What vehicles are exempt from inspection in NC?
Vehicles are exempt from emissions inspections under the following conditions:
- Some light-duty vehicles less than 3 years old or have fewer than 70,000 miles.
- Vehicle is 20 years old or older
- Registered as a farm vehicle.
10 сент. 2020 г.
What year cars have to be inspected in NC?
Emissions Inspections Exempt For 20-Year Old Vehicles Beginning December 1. RALEIGH, N.C. — You will no longer have to get a yearly emissions inspection if your vehicle is 20 years old. The new law begins December 1, 2019, after it was passed in 2017 and then approved by the Environmental Protection Agency.
How do I get a waiver for inspection in NC?
The vehicle owner must take the vehicle that failed the emission inspection, the two failed emission inspection records (VIRS), and the original repair receipts to the local DMV office. DMV will review all documentation and inspect the vehicle for the repairs before a waiver can be issued.
Do new cars need emissions?
Most diesel- and gas-powered cars and trucks manufactured in 1968 or later must have an annual emissions test, which can be completed at most service stations. New vehicles, motorcycles, and vehicles with a model year of 1967 and older are exempt from this requirement.
How old does a car have to be to be exempt from inspection in NC?
Vehicles more than 35 years old are exempt from the annual safety inspection.
How old does a car have to be to not be inspected in North Carolina?
All NC vehicle owners are obligated to comply with the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle’s inspection laws, with the only exception being vehicles older than 35 years, which are considered Antique Vehicles and are exempt.
Can you get your car inspected in any county in NC?
If your vehicle is exempt and you live in one of the counties that require an emissions inspection, you can have your vehicle inspected in any county.
How much is a NC inspection sticker?
North Carolina state vehicle inspection fees are $13.60. Emissions inspection fees, which include vehicle inspections, cost $30.00. Your vehicle must pass inspection before its registration can be renewed.
What counties in NC don’t require emissions testing?
With final approval, emissions testing will be removed from the following counties: Brunswick, Burke, Caldwell, Carteret, Catawba, Chatham, Cleveland, Craven, Edgecombe, Granville, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Lenoir, Moore, Nash, Orange, Pitt, Robeson, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Wayne, Wilkes and Wilson.
Is NC doing away with emissions testing?
In the fall, the Environmental Protection Agency approved a reduction in North Carolina counties required to perform yearly vehicle emissions tests. Starting Dec. 1, this will bring to 78 the total number of counties in North Carolina that will no longer require annual vehicle emissions tests.
How long does a car inspection last in NC?
An inspection is valid for 90 days, so if you do not complete your registration within that period you will need to get another one. Note: Residents of Buncombe County (and 21 other NC counties) are required to get an emissions inspection as well as a safety inspection.
Will a cracked windshield pass inspection in NC?
Safety Inspection Check 8: Windshield Glass
In some (but not all) cases, a cracked windshield can lead to a failed inspection in North Carolina. This is often the case if the cracked windshield obstructs the driver’s vision.
How do you pass an emissions test trick?
Use These Clever Tips to Pass Your Emissions Test
- Get an oil change. Chances are your car is probably due for one anyhow, but even if it falls a little early in your oil change schedule, it can never hurt. …
- Inflate your tires. …
- Get a tune-up. …
- Warm your car up. …
- Resolve an illuminated check engine light. …
- Use a fuel additive. …
- Pretest or free retest.
22 авг. 2019 г.
Does a 1998 car need emissions?
Model year 1997 and newer diesel vehicles with a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less must undergo emissions testing.
How do I find out when my car needs emissions?
Search for your Vehicle’s Test Date – An official notification notice will be sent to you at least 45 days in advance of your due date. You can click here and enter your vehicle’s VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) to find the test due date and request an email reminder.